RESOLUTION NO. 2021- 161

A RESOLUTION AMENDING RESOLUTION NO. 2017-99, WHICH NAMED THE MEMBERS OF THE NASSAU COUNTY ESSENTIAL HOUSING ADVISORY COMMITTEE, TO REAPPOINT MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE, AND ADD NEW MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE.

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners of Nassau County, Florida, adopted Resolution No. 2017-99 on May 17, 2017, which named the members of the Nassau County Affordable Housing Advisory Committee and Resolution No. 2018-59 which replaced one member of the Committee; and

WHEREAS, on May 15, 2019, the members of the Affordable Housing Advisory Committee elected to rename the Committee the "Essential Housing Advisory Committee," in recognition that their work encompasses a spectrum of housing issues and directly relates to the essential nature of housing in providing for residents' health and well-being; and

WHEREAS, members originally appointed to the Committee in 2017 have reached the end of their initial two-year term and wish to be reappointed for another two-year term; and

WHEREAS, two members of the Committee resigned and need to be replaced, filling the At-Large position and the Resident within the Jurisdiction of the Local Governing Body Making the Appointments position; and

WHEREAS, the alternate position for the Citizen who Represents Essential Public Services Personnel, has been replaced;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Nassau County, Florida as follows:

1. The following members are appointed for a second two-year term: Thomas Ford, Betsie

Huben, Greg Matovina, Barbara McDuffie, Mary Pitcher, Jenna Emmons, Lisa Rozier,

Suzanne Willis, and Dr. Kathy Burns.

2. Tia Brown is appointed as an alternate for Dr. Kathy Burns as a representative of the

Nassau County School Board under the "essential public services personnel" position.

3. The following member is appointed for his first two-year term: Gary Whitmore.

4. The members of the Essential Housing Advisory Committee shall be those

individuals as set forth in the attached amended Exhibit "A".

5. All other provisions of Resolution No. 2017-99 not in conflict shall remain in full force

and effect.

DULY ADOPTED this 18th day of August, 2021.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS NASSAU COUNTY, FLORIDA

AARON BELL

Its: Vice Chairman

ATTEST AS TO CHAIRMAN'S SIGNATURE:

JOHN A. CRAWFORD

Its: Ex-Officio Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM BY THE NAISSAU COUNTY ATTORNEY:

MICHAEL S. MULLIN

EXHIBIT "A"

AFFORDABLE HOUSING ADVISORY COMMITTEE SELECTION CRITERIA IN ACCORDANCE WITH FLORIDA STATUTES 420.9076: The Affordable Housing Advisory Committee shall be comprised of at least eight but not more than eleven members, who shall perform the duties as described in Section 420.9076, Florida Statutes. The Affordable Housing Advisory Committee shall consist of one representative from at least six of the categories set forth below.

	CATEGORY	REPRESENTATIVE
1	A citizen who is actively engaged in the residential home building industry in connection with affordable housing.	Greg Matovina
2	A citizen who is actively engaged in the banking or moligage banking industry connection with affordable housing;	Suzanne Willis
3	A citizen who is a representative of those areas of labor actively engaged in home building in connection with affordable housing;	
4	A citizen who is actively engaged as an advocate for low-income persons in connection with affordable housing;	
5	A citizen who is actively engaged as a for-profit provider of affordable housing;	
6	A citizen who is actively engaged as a not-for-profit provider of affordable housing;	Gary Whitmore
7	A citizen who is actively engaged as a real estate professional in connection with affordable housing;	Barbara McDuffie
8	A citizen who actively serves on the local planning agency pursuant to Section 163.3174, Florida Statutes;	Betsie Huben
9	A citizen who resides within the jurisdiction of the local governing body making the appointments;	Thomas Ford
10	A citizen who represents employers within the jurisdiction; and	Mary Pitcher
11	A citizen who represents essential public services personnel, as defined in the local housing assistance plan.	Kathy Burns (Alternate: Tia Brown)
12	One or more citizens who may be appointed from within the above referenced industries/activities without regard to affordable housing. These appointments shall be outside of the six representatives to be appointed from the above categories, pursuant to Section 420.9076(2).	Taylor Riffey Lisa Rozier Jenna Emmons